HighPoint Market – 4 days of complete chaotic fun shopping

Ok, it was more than 4 days of complete chaotic fun shopping….way more than that!  But in a blur and nutshell that’s what it seems.  In those four days I got to walk through  100+  showrooms, see everything meant to go in a home and more – from gorgeous lighting to impeccably designed furniture of all styles to antiques and ancient finds to unbelievable artwork….I could go on and on, but the pictures serve all purpose in today’s post.  Oh! I forgot to mention highlights of the trip for me: By chance, after eyeing and relaxing on some really unique sofas and  pillows,  I was greeted  by the designer of the furniture line and finally after filling him in on a vision I had for a clients home, we  personally sat down together and collaborated on tweaking some of his existing designs to fit my own vision.  I felt I was being somewhat of a Diva, but he reassured me that its so refreshing to work with a client like myself who knows exactly what she wants.   While at the same time, Carson Kressley  (remember him from Queer Eye?  Quick bio: television star, fashion designer and contributor, and author) walked through the doors and snapped a quick photo from his iPhone of our collaboration and mentioned he loved the color combos we pulled together for this project.   I also met and followed well-known interior designer and artist, Lillian August, through a showroom of furniture and accent pieces that she personally designed for Hickory White.  All in good fun.  Some of the pics I’ll illustrate today are of my absolute favorite finds and styles from the market; as well as a rundown of home trends for you as you go stamp your own style in your home.

We’ll start with the Trends:

COLOR of all shapes and sizes, bright hues and pastels….the color POPPED at this market and couldn’t be missed

IMG_9896

IMG_9815

One of my favorites right below, I am in love with a neutral palette within a home and making it vibrant through placement of colorful artwork, furniture, pillows and other accessories.

IMG_0008

Ok, I met the girl who actually made this wall paper, yes its floral wall paper….is it stunning or what?  To die for, she does amazing work.

IMG_9933

IMG_9794

IMG_9930

IMG_9716

IMG_9877

 

BOHEMIAN CHIC ruled many accessories, artwork, and lighting fixtures – Laid-back beaded chandeliers stole the spotlight! Light, worn-in fabrics and textiles as well as the artwork that illustrated really unique patterns – gotta say, this trend definitely speaks to me

IMG_0315

IMG_0160

IMG_9621

IMG_9804

IMG_0233

IMG_0279

IMG_0157

IMG_0313

IMG_0385

IMG_0159

IMG_0353

IMG_0279

 

So happy to say that MID CENTURY MODERN is back and so good looking – this style dates back to the 30’s and went all the way until the 1950’s actually, and it’s saying hello to 2014 and 15

IMG_0019

Below, my absolute favorite find from market, love at first sight

IMG_9658

IMG_9665

IMG_0026

IMG_0278

IMG_9864

 

CRAZY TEXTURES, seriously, stuff you have to feel and would never image would be used on coffee tables, console tables, chair backs, kitchen tables…..you name it and its textured, take a look and click to zoom in a bit, sorry you can’t touch it 🙂

IMG_9644

IMG_9975

IMG_9638

 

Super Chic CHEETAH, yeah not that ugly black and gold cheetah print you see on old ladies or part of a little girls costume – it’s beautiful cheetah fabrics that make ya wanna drool and cover your whole house in it

Below, is a chair designed by Rivers Spencer.  Her collection of furniture and design shop is out of New Orleans, on Magazine Street; I’m practically obsessed

IMG_0374IMG_0375

IMG_9967

IMG_9972

The newest thing out there: making your outdoor spaces ever-so-chic.  I have not seen outdoor furniture look so good.

IMG_0241

FullSizeRender

IMG_0253

IMG_0245

IMG_0387

These things rocked, for outdoors – super durable, super comfy, oversized, and cute!  So  many uses for the square poof – foot rest, coffee table, or extra seating.  And the 24×24 pillow made of the same material would be so comfortable on the back of a bench or chair, or even just posted against wall – yeah, I tried them out and fully enjoyed myself with a glass of wine in hand …. it was my last stop of the market.

IMG_0382 IMG_0383

 

And of course the colors Gold and Bronze lit the hallways, the showrooms, filled the windows……gold was everywhere and I am pretty sure its here to stay for quite some time – its beautiful styled in the right way.  If you take a look back in the pictures, you will also notice many shades of beautiful blues that I feel will really make its mark in 2015.

And here are a few of my favorite things…..I’m sending my list to Santa now.  I was very much drawn to the more unique items out there that you normally don’t see in a typical Baton Rouge home, and that’s what I plan to do as I continue to stamp my style as a home stylist and decorator:

These were everywhere at High Point, its the newest and seriously the coolest way to put art up on the wall, showcase family pictures, or your kids artwork – its brilliant and looks so chic and minimal.  I may have these available for sale very soon.

IMG_9941 IMG_9940

My favorite accessories below – its pretty obvious what color I’m in to at the moment. So pretty and glam – these would all be so pretty mixed up in a home.

IMG_0087 IMG_9680 IMG_0334 IMG_0333

My favorites in accent furniture:

IMG_0095 IMG_0330

 

If you don’t know, I love love to design children’s spaces – the sky is the limit, so this artwork really caught my eye.  Would be so precious in a nursery, child’s bedroom, or play room

IMG_0190 IMG_0187 IMG_0188

I had to throw this in here, its my favorite “smart, space saver” piece.  The inside has pockets to hold shoes (or whatever else you could come with) – perfect to have these in a little girl’s room at the foot of her bed

IMG_0137 IMG_0136

 

 

 

Leave a comment